The Penang Electrical Association Merchants` Association, (PEMA) is one of the oldest associations of its kind in Penang. Its forerunner was the Penang Electrical Association established before the Second World War with a membership of merchants` and workers alike.

On 1st March 1948, S.M. Yussof with eight other electrical merchants founded the Penang Electrical Merchants` Association or PEMA. The nine founding members are S.M. Yusoff, Choo Peng Keat, Chan Pak Leong, Lee Hong Chye, Bok Chong Pong, Oh Hong Seng, Geh Lye Woo, Khor Cheng Kang and Tung Chung. Merchant members from the Wiremen Association formed in 1945 left the organization to join PEMA. With more members and financial resources, the association established its footing at 90-E, Macalister Lane, Penang to hold regular meeting and to discuss matters of common interest.

The first President was S.M. Yusoff who remained in office for only 2 years. The first Honorary Secretary, Choo Peng Keat however was active for much longer and was also the President for four years. During the first decades of its existence, the Association has only about 20 members. Development was slow and uneventful until the association become more active after Merdeka. Currently the Association has more than one hundred and twenty members drawn from companies who are engaged in the in the electrical industries. They are classified according to their business activities such as Contracting, Construction & Services, Suppliers & Trading and Manufacturer.

Our main principal roles is representing the interest of the electrical industries in government sector and international companies and PEMA is also active in supplying latest information of electrical technical details, trainning and seminars for our members..


Old PEMA Premise at 90-E Macalister Lane

The Association started on 1 March 1948 with nine members. When the number increased the Association was able to rent its own premises at 90-E Macalister Lane. Not much was known of the first President. S.M. Yusoff. He remained in office for only two years. The first Honorary Secretary, Choo Peng Keat, however, was active for much longer and, was in fact president for four years. The Association probably had only about 20 members during the first decade of its existence.

Founder Members

  • President S.M. Yusoff
  • Secretary Choo Peng Keat
  • Chan Pak Leong
  • Lee Hong Chye
  • Bok Chong Pong
  • Oh Hong Seng
  • Geh Lye Woo

Pssast Presidents

S.M. Yusoff

1948 – 1949

Oh Hong Seng

1950 – 1951

1963 – 1964

1966 – 1967

Choo Peng Keat

1952 – 1953

1961 – 1962


Chan Pak Leong

1954 – 1955

Goh Cheng Hooi

1956 – 1960

Lim Yee Yuk

1968 – 1973

Tham Chiew Hoong


Kee Eng Leong

1975 & 1977

1979 - 1987

Lai Chang Hun
1976 & 1978

Foo Sing Tatt

1988 – 1991

Dato' Ooi Kok Kee

1992 – 1995

Lee Boon Hoe

1996 – 1999

Choo Kwang Wah

2000 – 2003

Dato' Seri Hong Yeam Wah

2004 – 2007

Teoh Yew Yean

2008 – 2011

Cheah See Yeong

2012 - 2015

Khaw Tatt Siew

2016 - Current

News & Events


  • PEMA 71st Anniversary cum Academic Award 2019


  • PEMA Walkathon 2018

  • ONE DAY SEMINAR - PEMA & Hong Seng Power Sdn Bhd

  • PEMA Courtesy Visit to Energy Commission

  • PEMA Academic Award & Education Talk 2018

  • PEMA 70th Anniversary Dinner Celebration

  • PEMA Charity Programme - Penang Care Centre Association

  • PEMA - Wise Pro Seminar on Lightning Protection

  • PEMA - TNB Pulau Pinang an Annual Dialogue



  • PEMA Academic Award & Educational Talk 2017


  • One Day Joint Seminar - PEMA & Hager




  • Technical Visit to Pascal Manufacturing Sdn Bhd

  • Academic

    檳 城 電 器 商 會 學 業 優 越 獎 2018 年
    The PEMA Academic Award 2018 presentation was held at Vistana Hotel, Penang on 29th July 2018. The event officially graced by YB Gooi Zhi Sen, Penang State Legislative Assemblyman of Pengkalan Kota.

    In conjunction with the presentation, an education talk was conducted by Educationist, Ms Vivian Goh who has more than 20 years of in inspirational and motivational talk experience. An education talk was to motivate and guide the recipients to further excel in their studies and also to guide them well when they leave school. It is the association’s obligation not only provides studies incentives but also to provide guidance to make them responsible citizens.

    The PEMA Academic Excellence was presented to the children of PEMA members and their employees who achieved outstanding results in the UPSR, PMR, SPM and STPM examinations. A total of 42 recipients were presented with the awards and the total amount awarded was RM 7,850.00. Besides the awards, PEMA also presented the 3rd Year Scholarship Award of a yearly grant of RM 2,000.00 to Ng Yun Ning.

    PEMA President Mr Khaw Tatt Siew in his opening address thanked to all members, organization and individuals for their support which has made the Education Fund possible. Over the years, the Association has attached great importance to the development of education. Therefore, similar events are held every year to fully reflect the purpose of the Association to encourage and recognize the children of PEMA members or their full-time employees in a rewarding to study hard and achieve superior results.

    The President also presented a souvenir to YB Gooi Zhi Sen in appreciation of her time and effort in gracing the occasion. Thereafter all were treated to a sumptuous buffet lunch. 


    Phone +604 - 299 0195
    Fax +604 - 2284233
    Address 171-A, Malacca Street, 10400, Penang, Malaysia
    Email [email protected]

    Developed by Operion Penang Web Design